Winners of the Popular Prize 2018 | European Inventor Award

Congratulations to Erik Loopstra and Vadim Banine!

Winners of the Popular Prize 2018

Congratulations to

Mr Erik Loopstra (NL) and Mr Vadim Banine (NL/RU)

Extreme ultraviolet lithography

Winners of the lottery

Thank you all for casting your vote in our Popular Prize poll for the European Inventor Award 2018!

Congratulations to the winners of our lottery!

Nouman Ali

Åucja Ratajczyk

Jenny Borgquist

Kiyeon Ryu

Maya Butterfield

Jan Sadoch

Jean-Luc Dimarcq

Peter Sørensen

Samira El aissi

Yuliya Stepanova

Anna Ermakova

Gilles Tarrit

Philippe Esnault

Finus van Cadsand

Orel Fournier

Lennart van der Windt

Nieves Gonzalez

Rémi Waché

Klaus Janecke

Nicholas Witting

Isabelle Mourareau

Srinivas Yashaswini

Linnea O'Brien

Martina Zimmermann

Renata Olejnik



The finalists

15 inventors or inventor teams from around the world have been nominated for this year’s European Inventor Award in five categories: Industry, Research, Non-EPO countries, SMEs and Lifetime achievement.


Learn more about the finalists
Filter by category
  • Erik Loopstra (NL) and Vadim Banine (NL/RU)

    Extreme ultraviolet lithography
  • Gaute Munch, Erik Hansen (DK) and team

    LEGO programmable robots
  • Agnès Poulbot and Jacques Barraud† (FR)

    Auto-regenerating tyre tread
  • Eileen Ingham and John Fisher CBE (UK)

    United Kingdom
    Donor tissue without rejection
  • Jacek Jemielity, Joanna Kowalska, Edward Darżynkiewicz and team (PL)

    Stabilising messenger RNA
  • Alex Kipman (BR)

    HoloLens: mixed reality smart glasses
  • Esther Sans Takeuchi (US)

    United States
    Batteries to reset the heart
  • Stephen Dewar (CA), Philip Watts (US/CA) and Frank Fish (US)

    CanadaUnited States
    Turbines and fans inspired by whales
  • Jane Ni Dhulchaointigh (IE) and team

    Sugru: multi-purpose mouldable glue
  • Jacques Lewiner (FR)

    Smoke alarm, internet connections, secure key cards and many more

Competition rules

The European Inventor Award and the Popular Prize lottery are organised by the European Patent Office (EPO). The Popular Prize scheme is regulated by German law.

  • You can vote for an inventor more than once, provided it’s on different days.
  • You can vote for multiple inventors each day.
  • If you want to be included in the prize lottery, please check the relevant box while voting. Each time you vote, your chances to win your own prize increase.
  • The total duration of the voting is five weeks, from 24 April 2018 to 3 June 2018.
  • The winners of the prize lottery will be drawn at random by the EPO on 11 June.
  • You must be at least 18 years old to take part in the Popular Prize vote.
  • The winners of the prize lottery will be notified by e-mail and requested to respond within 7 days to provide their postal address.
  • For more information, please read the Terms and Conditions, which you need to accept in order to be able to vote and participate in the lottery.

Your personal data has been removed from our database

As requested, we have removed your personal data from the database. You are therefore no longer participating in the Popular Prize lottery.

If this was a mistake or you have changed your mind, simply vote for your favourite inventor again.